Duck Men End Outdoor Title Drought

video preview image

EUGENE, Ore.– For the first time since 1984, the Men of Oregon are NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Champions. The ducks had a 25-point lead over Florida entering the final day of competition, and cruised to victory with the help of three individual national champions.

Senior runner Mac Fleet outkicked Arizona’s Lawi Lalang to win the 1,500 meter title for the second straight year. Fleet won in a time of 3:30.09, edging Lalang, who finished in 3:39:13.

Redshirt junior thrower Sam Crouser used his sixth and final throw to pass Kentucky’s Raymond Dykstra to win the javelin final. Crouser, who finished third in 2013, had a winning throw of 252-7, winning by one foot, one inch.

Freshman sprinter Devon Allen, the Ducks breakout star in spring football, earned the title-clinching points with an upset victory in the 110-meter hurdles in a meet record 13.16. It’s the second-fastest time by a collegiate athlete ever and third fastest time in the world this year.

The Duck men finished with 88 points–the highest point total since the introduction of the 8-deep scoring system in 1985. Oregon finished 18 points ahead of Florida–it’s the largest margin of victory since 1984.

The women of Oregon held a two-point lead entering the final day, but couldn’t hold off Texas A&M. The Aggies won the women’s outdoor title with 75 points, while the Ducks finished in third place with 59 points. Oregon got a second-place finish from sprinter Jenna Prandini in the 200 meter final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

× 8 = 64

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>