Starting Jan. 1, to encourage Oregonians to keep both hands on the wheel, the fine for driving while using a cell phone will increase from $250 to a maximum of $500.
And for the first time, it will be illegal for drivers to smoke in their car if a child is present, but only as a secondary violation.
“A law enforcement officer would need to see another primary violation such as speed violation, and then make the traffic stop and get up to the vehicle and notice someone is smoking in the car with children, then they could take enforcement action,” said Lt. Gregg Hastings, Oregon State Police.
First-time offenders will face a $250 fine. Repeat violators could face as much as $500.