SALEM, Ore. — The year 2013 kicks off a new year for all of us and also lays down some new laws.
Some of those bring new perks, while others carry restrictions. These laws should come as no surprise; lawmakers gave approval earlier this year. Tuesday is the first day many will be enforced.
Starting Jan. 1, minimum wage workers will get a 15 cent raise and will now make $8.95 an hour. That’s the second highest rate in the country after Washington.
Oregon’s also tightening its tobacco ban to include state properties.
Also Tuesday, Oregon higher education workers are considered to be mandatory reporters of child abuse.
The state will crack down on motorcycle safety. Motorcyclists under 51 must complete a motorcycle safety course and have a state endorsement.
Also rules adjust for river-goers and fishermen. Barbless hooks are required when fishing for salmon, steelhead and trout in several areas including parts of the Willamette River.
A new law going in to effect Tuesday on the city level is the first phase of a plastic bag ban in Corvallis stores–those that have 50 or more employees. Eugene is scheduled to follow suit later this spring.