Recall Issued for Fire District Members

ROSEBURG, Ore. — Four Lookingglass Rural Fire District directors are being recalled.

Recall petitions were submitted to the Douglas County Elections office Monday, and enough signatures were validated to put the recall on the ballot, according to Douglas County Clerk Patricia Hitt.

Directors Dennis Sifford, Stuart Kramer, Phyllis (Jeanie) Smith and Dave Meador have until August 20 to resign or else face a recall election.

Chief Petitioner Robert Russell says he and others want these directors recalled because they believe the board is overbudgeting, and it doesn’t consider what the people who live in their district want when making its decisions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

7 + 1 =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>