BREAKING NEWS OHA reports 376 new cases, 7 deaths Full Story
STREAMING NOW: Watch Now

Police: Put your phones down while driving

If you text or talk on your phone while driving, you could spend six months in jail.

Posted: Apr 1, 2019 10:19 AM

EUGENE, Ore. -- April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and police departments throughout Oregon are reminding everyone to put their phones down.

Distracted driving includes texting, scrolling through social media and talking on the phone. 

Under the current law, you can't text or talk on the phone. However, you can use a hands-free device to talk, but only if you're 18 years old or older.  

A violation can lead to three different types of offenses, depending on the circumstances:

  • A First Offense that doesn't contribute to a crash is a Class B violation with a maximum fine of $1,000.
  • A Second Offense, or if the First Offense contributes to a crash, is a Class A violation with a maximum fine of $2,000.
  • A Third Offense in 10 years is a Class B misdemeanor and could result in a maximum fine of $2,500 and six months in jail. 

Oregon Coronavirus Cases

Data is updated nightly.

Confirmed Cases: 21010

Reported Deaths: 355
CountyConfirmedDeaths
Multnomah484994
Washington304725
Marion288370
Umatilla225128
Clackamas152340
Malheur76814
Deschutes59610
Lane5793
Jackson4612
Yamhill45013
Lincoln4149
Union3942
Jefferson3554
Morrow3543
Polk31312
Linn27710
Klamath2012
Wasco1893
Hood River1840
Benton1696
Douglas1501
Josephine1142
Columbia940
Coos910
Clatsop850
Crook471
Baker380
Tillamook340
Lake320
Wallowa191
Sherman160
Curry150
Harney100
Gilliam40
Grant40
Unassigned00
Wheeler00
Eugene
Clear
77° wxIcon
Hi: 85° Lo: 56°
Feels Like: 78°
Corvallis
Clear
76° wxIcon
Hi: 86° Lo: 57°
Feels Like: 76°
Roseburg
Clear
78° wxIcon
Hi: 88° Lo: 58°
Feels Like: 78°
North Bend
Clear
64° wxIcon
Hi: 65° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 64°
KEZI Radar
KEZI Temperatures
KEZI Planner

LATEST FORECAST

Community Events