SALEM, Ore.-- A group of lawmakers in the state capital proposed a bill to increase Oregon's minimum wage to $17 an hour.
The five democrats are sponsoring the bill that would change a 2016 law that raises the minimum wage to $17 an hour state-wide by July 1, 2022. Currently, the law will raise the minimum wage based on standards of living. By 2022, Lane, Linn, and Benton Counties will have a base pay of $13.50 an hour. Douglas and Coos County's minimum wage will be at $12.50 an hour. House Bill 3351 would do away with this tiered system. It would also require the minimum wage to be adjusted based on inflation.
The bill is still in its early stages and is still sitting on the House Speaker's desk for the first read.
Regardless if the bill passes, Oregon's minimum wage is set to go up on July 1, 2021. Here is the increase based on counties in our viewing area:
Lane: $12.75 an hour
Line: $12.75 an hour
Benton: $12.75 an hour
Douglas $12.00 an hour
Coos: $12.00 an hour