Minimum wage workers across the state of Oregon are receiving a raise, but how much depends on where you live.
In Lane, Benton and Linn Counties, the wage will increase from $10.25 to $10.75.
In Douglas and Coos County, it will climb from $10 an hour to $10.50.
In the Portland area, it goes from $11.25 to $12 an hour.
"I think it's a benefit from the standpoint that I think a lot of people suffer out there that are on minimum wage," said Tom Hankins, manager of M. Jacobs Fine Furniture in Eugene. "I think there's a lot of people out there with living wages is already pretty low and I think that might help, not in a significant way, but every little bit helps when youre at that level."
Hankins said at the store level, he doesn't think it will have a huge impact on the average full-time worker after their taxes are taken out, but said every bit helps.
According to a report by The Oregonian, state lawmakers approved the minimum wage hikes in hopes of reducing income differences between the state's wealthiest residents and people at the lower end of the pay scale.
- Oregon's minimum wage increased on Sunday
- Oregon's minimum wage increase takes effect July 1
- Oregon man dies at minimum-security prison in Salem
- Motor vehicle crashes in Oregon increase
- Warm spring increases Oregon's wildfire potential
- Oregon reports increase in deaths related to meth use
- Oregon roads see a 13 percent increase in fatal crashes
- Advocates push for $2 increase in tobacco tax in Oregon
- University of Oregon could implement budget cuts, tuition increase
- House approves increase in funding for Oregon schools